Nkonkobe recognizes local heroes

The 5th December 2014 is a day to remember for all recipients of awards during the Nkonkobe Community Builder of the Year Awards Ceremony held at the Alice Happy Rest Hall. This day was made extra special by the recognition given to two Springbok players: Ayanda Kahla - National Ladies Cricket Player and Nolusindiso Booi - National Ladies Rugby Player who originate from Nkonkobe.

The main objective of the event is to promote and strengthen working partnership with the people, private sector and government towards building Nkonkobe to be a better place for all to live, work, invest, play and experiencing its natural landscape and eco-tourism. It also serves as a platform to celebrate and honour the role played by the heroes and heroines of Nkonkobe in community development.

In his address Nkonkobe Mayor said: “We are passionate about our community and very proud to recognise the special people who make a difference to those around them. So often people who devote much of their lives to helping others go without any recognition at all; this is why Nkonkobe Municipality introduced these awards so as reveal the inspirational work happening in the communities and say a great big ‘thank you’.”

The awards also served as a reception for all the participants of the Miss Nkonkobe Beauty Pageant where they were getting words of encouragement from the Mayor “to go and be ambassadors of this municipality and work hard to achieve their goals”.

Xerox received a special award for its continued support and sponsorship of development programs within the Nkonkobe area. 

 Here are the winners

¨ Best Improved Grade 12 Results On 2013: Dalubuhle Secondary School

¨ Best Performing Women Cooperative:Thembalabantu Community Cooperative

¨ Community Builder Of The Year – Sport

1.  Ayanda Kahla - National Ladies Cricket Player

2. Nolusindiso Booi - National Ladies Rugby Player

3. Siphosenkosi Nofemele - Best Male Player Of The Year

4. Xolelwa Booi - Best Female Player Of The Year

5. Simphiwe Jongidiza - Most Promising Male Player

6. Zizipho Tiyiwe - Most Promising Female Player

¨ Community Builder Of The Year – Environment :  Siyabonga High School

¨ Community Builder Of The Year – Youth Programme: Zoliswa Mtwebana - Unity Trust Business Services

¨ Community Builder Of The Year- Entrepreneurship: Mzwandile Kameni – Tanci Wholesale & Distributors

¨ Community Builder Of The Year – Recreation: Vuyani Booi - African Heritage Agency

¨ Community Builder Of The Year – Crime Prevention:

1.     Hogsback Crime Prevention Unit- Saps

2. Alice – Community Police Forum

¨ Best Accommodation For 2014:  Elundini Back Packers

¨ Best Cultural Experience And Heritage 2014: Nyathelani Women Traditional Group

¨ 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award: To Forward

¨ 2014 Community Builder Of The Year Award: Lunga Mazwana – Somila Community Development Association

¨ Special Award: Xerox

Internal Awards

¨ Outstanding Performance Employee – Sebenzile Kakalala

¨ Best Conduct Employee – Mrs. Nomhle Zono

¨ Long Service Employee – Mr. Jan Roberts


Written by: Cynthia Mokitimi